HomeNationalNumbers game | Andhra & Telangana: the evolution of the strength...

Numbers game | Andhra & Telangana: the evolution of the strength of the Assembly over the decadesOUS News

A Divisional Bench of the Supreme Court has issued an opinion to the Union Government, the Governments of Andhra Pradesh and Telangana and the Election Commission of India regarding a writ petition to implement the section 26 of the Andhra Pradesh Reorganization Act 2014, which relates to the number of seats in the legislatures of the successor states of Andhra Pradesh and Telangana. The court, in its order last week, requested a response to the appeal.

How many more seats

The petition called for the number of Assembly seats in Andra Pradesh to be increased from 175 to 225 and in Telangana from 119 seats to 153 constituencies.

The next delimitation exercise – the procedure by which new constituency boundaries are determined by the census – to redefine constituency boundaries is scheduled for 2026. Section 170 of the Constitution states that “The Legislative Assembly of each State shall consists of at most five hundred and at least sixty members chosen by direct suffrage from the territorial constituencies of the State.

A gradual transformation

* 142 constituencies in Hyderabad State: In 1951, when Assembly elections were first held in Hyderabad State, Congress won under Neelam Sanjiva Reddy. The state had 142 seats in the Assembly at the time.

* 167 constituencies in Andhra state: In the 1955 elections, Bezawada Gopal Reddy of Congress became the CM.

* 85 constituencies: in the combined legislative elections of 1957, there were 85 seats because the members of the first Assembly (1955-1962) elected in 1955 were entitled to a seven-year term. Reddy came out on top in the polls.

* 300 precincts: In the 1962 election, the first all-voter contest, Reddy won again, with Congress taking 177 of 300 seats.

* 294 seats: At the time of the split in 2014, there were 294 Assembly constituencies in Andhra Pradesh.